Superfood and Super Delicious Coffee Creamer

So summer is over, which means no more bikinis, but it also means no more drinking Rose and/or margaritas every chance we get.  Since fall clothes are my absolute favorite, its time to get serious about getting back in shape.  I recently signed up for an unlimited yoga pass at West Hartford Yoga but I am also trying to make better decisions about nutrition so that my favorite sweaters look just a little bit better this year.  This is a coffee creamer recipe that I got from Danette May, who has a ton of great recipes on her Facebook Page, here.

This creamer is full of ingredients that have tons of health benefits including stimulating your metabolism, and making your skin look and feel younger.  The ingredients are all reasonably priced, can be found at your local Whole Foods, and last for a long time! Here is the recipe:

img_3535

1 tsp. raw Cacao powder

1/4 tsp. Maca Powder

1 tbl. collagen powder (you can use pure collagen, I use collagen peptides)

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. tumeric

1 tsp. coconut oil

1 tsp.-1 tbl. coconut sugar (your preference)

1/4 tsp. cardamon or nutmeg (again, only if you like these flavors!).  More nutmeg will make it more pumpkin-spice esque!

To make this work-friendly, I quadruple the recipe and combine the dry ingredients in a small mason jar to bring to work.  I also bring a jar of coconut oil, so that once I make my coffee (in a french press- but you can make the coffee however you like it) I can add 1 tsp. of each to the coffee.  In Danette’s videos, she blends the coffee and creamer in a blender to make it frothy, but I simply stir it up and its still really delicious.

img_3525

This is an easy, and inexpensive way to enjoy your coffee in the morning.  It is equally as delicious as your typical iced latte from Blue State (which, I admittedly still indulge in every once in a while) but has many, many more healthy benefits!

Happy sipping 🙂

XX.

Leave a Reply

