Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Peppers

A peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper Picked.

 

As you will see in my Garden post, this year I chose to plant a hybrid pepper plant.  On the tag from Lowe’s it said that the hybrid pepper should be somewhere between a Habanero and a bell pepper.  Game on! I love spicy foods, and bell peppers are one of my favorites, so this pepper seemed perfect for me. The tag didn’t warn us that this pepper is HOT.  I mean it burns on your lips for hours after you eat it hot.

Based on the description, I thought it could be great in a salad! Why not add a little spice? But once we tried them we quickly realized there is WAY too much spice to just throw these bad boys into a salad.  Instead, I threw a few raw ones into the crock pot with my favorite Taco Chicken, and it came out great! Just a little bit spicy but not overpoweringly so.  Because I make Taco Chicken all year round and this pepper plant (which actually looks more like a small tree at this point)  won’t last forever, I decided to pickle and can some peppers for the winter.  I ordered the Mason Jars on Amazon.com for less than $1 per jar! Here is the recipe I used for pickling/canning:

Always be sure to wash and dry your chili peppers before pickling them. Also, sterilize any jars and jar lids before using. Boil them on the stove for a half hour, or throw them in the dishwasher for a cycle or two.

Ingredients 

  • 1 pound hot peppers- I used hybrids from the garden, you can really do this with pretty much any vegetable if you want.

ff56ff74-6924-45df-8d17-d0eab01b2d00

  • 3 cups apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3 teaspoons pickling salt
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • Pickling spices (I used a garlic clove in each jar and about 1/2 tbsp. ground ginger)
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 6 pint jars with lids

Cooking Directions

  • Thoroughly wash your jars (I just ran new jars through the dishwasher on hot)

18fba228-4290-4c85-8122-e59869d78df8

  • Slice the peppers (I tried doing this with whole peppers and it did not work- they float!).  Pack the sliced peppers into the jars, leaving ½” headspace.

IMG_2601

  • Cover the peppers in your desired amount of pickling spices

IMG_2603

  • In a pot, combine vinegar, water, honey and pickling salt. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer about 5 minutes.
  • Pour (or ladle) pickling solution into jars over peppers leaving ½” headspace.

IMG_2604

  • Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil over the top. Remove air bubbles using a rubber spatula to move the peppers around and get the air out.
  • Wipe top rims clean then close the jars tight with two-piece caps.
  • Process for 10 minutes in boiling water bath.

IMG_2605

  • Let set for 12-24 hours. Check seals (all of mine popped after coming out of the water bath!)

IMG_2606

  • Ready to eat in 3 to 4 weeks. Store them somewhere dark that does not reach over 75degrees.

I can’t wait to dig into these this winter!  I am off to pack for a girls trip to Kansas City this weekend, I will be updating from there. I can’t wait!

XX.

Leave a Reply

